Charlotte and Jonathan

Charlotte and Jonathan

Charlotte and Jonathan

I generally avoid writing about things here that are trendy or popular. If I find out about something on a social network, I avoid writing about it.

Sure, I’ve discussed current events from time to time, but I generally avoid it (mostly because the media annoys me so).

But a day or two ago I added a video to my YouTube “Watch Later” list from a post on Google+ and I just watched it.

I just now watched it.

There are still a few tears lingering in my eye, and that doesn’t happen often. Not from YouTube videos.

I’m just not the sentimental type. So for me, it’s always embarrassing when something tears me up, especially a YouTube video.

Anyhow, if you haven’t already heard of this Britain’s Got Talent performance by Charlotte and Jonathan, you should go watch the video.

Two mice; the mouse on the left has more fat s...

Two mice; the mouse on the left has more fat stores than the mouse on the right. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here’s the thing. I’m generally pretty critical of the large number of overweight people in the world (especially America). I try to avoid judging the individuals, but the fact that our society is producing so many people that are morbidly obese bothers me. I feel that most of it is due to poor choices in lifestyle and health, and thus it is preventable.

But people complain about it.

If it’s preventable, and you don’t prevent it, then you don’t complain when people talk about it.

Right?

But I do understand that some people, no matter how much exercise and healthy-eating they do, just can’t avoid putting on weight. And the severity of this condition varies. So when I see people like Jonathan lumbering about, I try to assume they have some sort of genetic problem.

Here’s the kicker. I am by no means a saint, but I also am not the most harsh when it comes to judging these overweight people. There are some very cruel people out there who completely dismiss heavy people as being irresponsible, unhealthy, lazy, or otherwise unworthy due to their physical appearance. These meanie-heads would never stop to wonder what kinds of talents the big people might have, or what they might be able to contribute to the world around them. Even I have sometimes found myself inappropriately labeling obese people as being more of a burden on society than a contributing member.

So when fat, obese, ridiculed Jonathan opened his mouth and let a powerful, rich, clear, steady stream of vocal energy loose on the microphone, I nearly let tears fall.

I’m sick of these talent shows with all of the singers. Music is wonderful, and singing is a beautiful talent, but for more reasons than I care to mention here, I wish those talent shows would quit showcasing the singers so much. But in this case, I make an exception. Jonathan, at only 17 years old, has reminded me that each and every soul on the planet can contribute something to the world to make it a better place.

No amount of disfigurement, handicap, obesity, or even poor choices can remove a person’s intrinsic value. Their kinetic (actual) value may vary based on their current choices and actions, but every human being has an intrinsic worth that should not be overlooked based on their outward appearance or circumstances.

Oh yeah, and Charlotte was OK too, though I’m pretty certain she missed at least a few notes on a couple of occasions in there. But I still like her.

2 Responses to “Charlotte and Jonathan”


  1. 1 Dr. Angela Kowitz Orobko April 3, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I posted about this, too. Great minds think alike. I totally empathize with Jonathan as I am not at a healthy weight; yet, I eat healthy, I am active and I have many talents that some who look at me would have never guessed. Thank you for your frankness and may we all learn not to judge a book by its cover.

  2. 2 Melia May 7, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    You may or may not have seen this, but I totally stole your video here and used it for a post. So thank you. Your videos are quite inspiring, Brian! I happen to want to steal most of them! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing this. I wouldn’t have see it otherwise. In fact, I think I am going to rely on you as my YouTube inspiration person. I never have time to watch anything and you always find the good stuff!

    Anyway, here is the post. Thank you again.

    http://chantellesays.blogspot.com/2012/04/monday-mantra-open-book.html


Leave a comment




Subscribe to Me

What I’m Reading

When I Post

April 2012
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

I have had:

  • 54,103 page views (so far)