Thrill of Christmas

As I sneakily descended from our bedroom into the living room to turn on the Christmas tree lights for our kids before they came down, I found a little part of me still felt the excitement of seeing the tree with all of its presents, curious and thrilled to see what Santa might have left. Alas that part of me was let down when I realized that all of the gifts under the tree had been placed there by me late at night.

Those who argue that “making kids believe in Santa” is ethically wrong must have somehow killed their inner child. They are no longer capable of feeling the thrill and excitement that Christmas brings with its magical promise of things bigger and more important than our lame, mundane lives. The magic of Santa and Christmas reminds children that there is something more to believe in far above our own level of understanding: that there is a mysterious yet familiar being who wishes to be called our Heavenly Father, and He sent His Only Begotten Son to redeem us from sin grant us all eternal life.

I hope my children never lose that racing heart feeling when they approach the tree on Christmas morning, just as I felt it this morning.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Me

What I’m Reading

When I Post

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS My Favorite Quotes

  • Quote #60
    "The greatest minds are capable of the greatest vices as well as the greatest virtues." - Rene Descartes
  • Quote #59
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self." - Ernest Hemingway
  • Quote #58
    "The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool." - William Shakespeare

I have had:

  • 50,506 page views (so far)

I’m a Twit


