Now We’re Walking

A couple of weeks ago Sophie took her first real unassisted steps. Yesterday, she sealed the deal: walking is officially better than crawling. Here are two videos I’ve titled “Advanced Walking Techniques 1: Turning” and “Advanced Walking Techniques 2: Getting Up.”

It’s been hard for me to miss all of this. I’m surviving, but it breaks my heart. I never believed my heart could be broken until about four years ago. Now it’s been breaking on a regular basis. It will be good to be home again. Just four more weeks. Here are some photos from yesterday’s Skype session so you can see my family from my perspective.

Sophie and Rochelle waving.

Sophie and Rochelle waving.

Rochelle kissing Sophie.

Rochelle kissing Sophie.

Sophie and Rochelle laughing.

Sophie and Rochelle laughing.

By the time I get home, Sophie will be running. Every day the question looms overhead: Will Sophie run to me or from me? It doesn’t really matter, because her initial reaction isn’t important. I know that as I spend time with her she’ll remember me. Who knows, she may still remember me. She does like seeing me on Skype.

Every time I sit down to type one of these things from so far away, my brain scatters. I guess this isn’t a subject I enjoy thinking and writing about. Oh well, until next time.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Me

What I’m Reading

When I Post

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

RSS My Favorite Quotes

  • Quote #60
    "The greatest minds are capable of the greatest vices as well as the greatest virtues." - Rene Descartes
  • Quote #59
    "There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self." - Ernest Hemingway
  • Quote #58
    "The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool." - William Shakespeare

I have had:

  • 50,298 page views (so far)

I’m a Twit

  • RT @ChicagoPhotoSho: Bezos: "Alexa, buy me something from Whole Foods" Alexa: "Buying Whole Foods" Bezos: Shit -> 1 week ago
  • @brEATtney Asking the important questions again, I see. I'll expect an answer to this one within four months or so. ;) -> 1 week ago
  • Got a huge kick out of my friend replying to her own tweet from over four months ago. So funny! https://t.co/78mtSVRH4z -> 1 week ago
  • @brEATtney Ha! Just noticed this was from over four months ago! Too funny. -> 1 week ago
  • @brEATtney It's AMAZING on everything. And when honey butter isn't appropriate garlic butter is. They are a perfect fit for each other. -> 1 week ago

