Simplicity, Productivity Boosting, and My Kindle

I'll be covering this topic.

I’m challenging myself to cover three huge topics and do it in as short a post as possible because I want you to actually read the whole thing.

Ready?

Go.

Simplicity has always been a thing for me. I have an entire site set up dedicated to seeking elegant simplicity in the things I own (though it’s been neglected for a while). Then, I read a book by Joshua Becker called Simplify. After reading it, I knew what I had to do. I had a vision of what I wanted my home to look like.

It was clean. It was orderly. We only had the things we absolutely needed or really, really wanted. No junk. No perpetual messes. No clutter.

But I knew I wouldn’t be able to do it alone. So I had my wife read the book on my Kindle. She agreed that it would be good for us to change the way we view our stuff, and we began.

That was back in January. So far we’ve de-cluttered over a third of the rooms and spaces in our home, and the areas we have cleared out are still¬†immaculate. It feels great. I am a little less stressed even. I can’t wait to be done, but I suspect it will be less of a destination and more of a mentality, a lesson for our children, and a process. We will forever be questioning what we own, what we need, and what we use. It is a beautiful thing.

Along those lines, and before I move on to the second topic, I have to mention the simplification of my digital life (which began before even reading Simplify).

If you’ve been reading my posts for a while you’ll know that I have gone back and forth with Facebook for a long time. My last post on the subject mentioned that I had divided my Facebook existence into two accounts as an experiment to see if I really needed or wanted it.

Well, the experiment ended about four months ago. I realized that I just didn’t really need or want Facebook, so I shut down my accounts entirely.

Hurray for scientific experimentation.

On to topic number two: Productivity Boosting.

So last week I stumbled upon this article about fixing procrastination. Being the procrastinator that I am, I bookmarked the article and decided to read it later.

Then, the next day, I realized the irony of that approach with that sort of an article, and I printed the article, thinking that if I carried it around long enough I’d feel more pressure to read it than if it sat in my inhumanely long list of bookmarks in the To Do folder.

An iron, because I said irony.

So I carried it around in my book bag and even kept it on my nightstand for another couple of days, hoping I would read it.

Eventually, when I was about to condemn myself to a life of expert-level procrastination, I read the article.

I liked it. It was simple. I like simple. I could start immediately. Well, sort of… OK. I started the next day.

I highly recommend you read the article, but here’s what you need to know in order to follow along: The idea is that you pick three or four broad-ish goals to accomplish every single day, and if you meet your goals you put a big, fat, gratuitously gratifying “X” for the day on a special calendar reserved for this process. If you miss a day, you break the chain of X’s, which is bad, and you… um, you… well, you just allow yourself to feel horrible about breaking your chain, then you renew your resolve and go at it again the next day, or something like that.

In the end I wound up having to adapt the idea a little, since some of the specifics wouldn’t work for me and I kind of got lost on a couple of the ideas since my printer had an issue with figuring how images and text interact.

So I drafted up my Productivity Plan (the four goals), and decided that I would only hold myself to completing three of the four goals each day.

My goals are to exercise, simplify, write, and relax. I don’t want to expect myself to do all four every day because I don’t believe in exercising every single day (I have to have at least Sunday off, RIGHT?), and some days I just don’t have time to simplify something, or maybe I just can’t work up the energy required to do any writing because my soul has been drained by my sadistic government employer… I wanted some leeway to account for non-perfect days.

Vacation time, sick time, and other extraneous circumstances can be explained in the calendar by, instead of marking an “X,” marking an “S” for “sick,” a “V” for “super rad vacation that was totally too awesome to afford me any time to be productive,” or an “E” for “END OF THE WORLD, FORGET MY GOALS.”

Mostly, I anticipate a string of X’s.

So I printed off some pages of calendars. I wanted all of the days in the year to be on one sheet of paper, so I went with this calendar. I printed three years’ worth to keep me busy for a while. Then I got a super cheap-o folder from Target, and picked up these fat markers for $3.50 while I was there (sometimes Amazon prices are awesome, other times they are scary dangerous – as of this writing those same markers are selling for over $8 on Amazon).

You can't tell me this isn't an awesome hat.

To help with the exercise thing, I got a nice pedometer a few weeks ago. I also got a really awesome hat, but that’s completely unrelated.

Then I stapled the current year sheet to the front of the folder, put the extra year calendars inside with the article printout and my Productivity Plan, and started marking X’s the next day. Today is the second day of working under this slave-driver. So far, I’ve been quite productive and I like it. I also really like my hat.

Because one of my goals (the relax goal) deals with reading, it’s now time to mention my Kindle.

I decided to get a Kindle a while ago, and I did. And I’m very glad I did.

I didn’t promise a review, but here it is: I really love my Kindle and if you are on the fence between nook and Kindle, do your stinking homework. Don’t just ask me what to get. They both have their advantages and disadvantages, and the decision is yours because we live in a free country where choices are awesome. Embrace the choice.

The only “problem” is that now I have way too many books to read. I already had a pile a mile high (closer to three feet wide, in the bookshelf) of physical books to read (though those are very lazy-making since I think I have a paper allergy or something). Now I have over a hundred books on my Kindle that are waiting to be read.

It’s just too easy to add books to your Kindle library. They have this Kindle Daily Deal thing where books are put on super-sale. I know I picked up at least one $14 e-book for just $1.99 (a great book that I wanted to read – don’t judge me; I know you’re thinking back to my spat about simplification). I also picked up one of my favorite titles, which normally lists for $11.95 (but currently sells for &7.81), for just ninety nine cents! You can see how books can start to pile up. Some of the daily deals are free books, and I regularly catch wind of book promotions through Google+ where authors are giving their books away for free.

So I’m in the middle of reading the Hunger Games trilogy (almost done with book 2), but when I finish I’m going to have a reading list that puts all of my other “to do” lists to shame.

Oh, and they have this Kindle Owner’s Lending Library where many of the best-sellers can be borrowed for free. Indefinitely. You can only have one borrowed at a time, and you can’t borrow more than one per month, but that gives me easy, free access to so many good books it makes my head spin. That’s how I’m currently reading the Hunger Games. All of the books in that trilogy are free for me to borrow, for as long as it takes me to read them.

Crazy.

Alright. That’s enough for this post. I sure would like some comments from you brave, intrepid souls who made it to the end of my post. What are you currently reading? Do you use an e-reader? Do you have any productivity tricks? Do you like hats?

12 Responses to “Simplicity, Productivity Boosting, and My Kindle”


  1. 1 Dr. Angela Kowitz Orobko February 26, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Your PEE-PEE is great. ROTFL

    • 2 Mediocre Renaissance Man February 26, 2012 at 6:16 pm

      I’m really glad you like it! I was getting really nervous about showing it in public!

  2. 3 Dr. Angela Kowitz Orobko February 26, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    In all honesty, that is what I have been doing (productivity plan); it is the only way to proceed with anything (writing, art, any project) without feeling overwhelm or going crazy. What is invaluable about your Pee-pee (yes, I really wanted to say it again…giggle) is that you developed a plan that works for you! Kudos. I also appreciate the trackback to my article on Simplicity on A Kiss Of Bliss. I hope you come back and read more of my articles. Joy and blessings, Angi

    • 4 Mediocre Renaissance Man February 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      Your impeccable spelling is a delight (wink, wink) and I love your themed posts. Thanks for the kind words and keep having fun!

      • 5 Dr. Angela Kowitz Orobko February 26, 2012 at 6:24 pm

        Thank you, you’re welcome, and I will. :)

  3. 6 Chelle (@Asheyna) February 26, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Love it! My life is fairly simple, some by choice, some by circumstance. I own a Kobo and I adore it. I’m trying to be productive every day, but it doesn’t always happen. Great post :)

  4. 7 Melia February 28, 2012 at 8:45 am

    The calendar is amazing. Way to plan for the end of the world, brilliant! Also, I do like hats and yes, that one is pretty darn cool.

    • 8 Mediocre Renaissance Man February 28, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Thanks! And now you know what it’s like to be me, since I can NEVER remember to check that box!

  5. 9 Melia February 28, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Argh. I forgot to check the notify box. You would think I would have learned, but no.


  1. 1 Nook vs Kindle: The Story of My Personal Decision « The Mediocre Renaissance Man Trackback on February 27, 2012 at 3:39 pm
  2. 2 Cool New Facebook Feature « The Mediocre Renaissance Man Trackback on April 12, 2012 at 5:22 pm
  3. 3 Happenings « The Mediocre Renaissance Man Trackback on April 23, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Me

What I’m Reading

When I Post

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

RSS My Favorite Quotes

  • Quote #55
    "We should be taught not to wait for inspiration to start a thing. Action always generates inspiration. Inspiration seldom generates action." - Frank Tibolt
  • Quote #54
    "There art two cardinal sins from which all others spring: Impatience and Laziness." - Franz Kafka
  • Quote #53
    "I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking up something and finding something else on the way." - Franklin Pierce Adams

I have had:

  • 47,024 page views (so far)

I’m a Twit

  • There's no time like the present to present a present to those present presently. -> 1 month ago
  • My answer to Is there any program that will help me to paint a 3d picture on the street? qr.ae/YEI4R -> 3 months ago
  • My answer to How does it feel to be obsessed with someone? qr.ae/Gjufy -> 9 months ago
  • So I guess I dropped off the face of the planet from your perspective. Who all is doing #NaNoWriMo this year? -> 1 year ago
  • @mndhntr We're well. Thanks for the update on the trip. Keep us posted! I hope you are all well also. :) -> 1 year ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

