Let’s Try Something New

Blue Nintendo 3DS on display in Nintendo booth...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve got an idea. I’ll try something new today. Blogging.

Yes, it’s been a very long time since I’ve written anything on here (and my family blog is feeling equally abandoned lately).

There are a few things I wanted to share (briefly) today before I get to work. I’ve lots to do and little time to do it in.

First, I had a lot of nightmares last night. At least a few of them were due to some knowledge that I happened across recently. Read about it at your own risk. You will quickly realize that many people incorrectly use the phrase “well hung” when referring to a gentleman’s manhood. Also, I never want to think about that phrase ever again.

In other quick news, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying my new Nintendo 3DS. On Friday my wife and I had ours in StreetPass mode while we rode the Metro to the Eastern Market area of DC. I got one StreetPass tag and my wife somehow managed to get two. I’m still puzzled about that since we were side-by-side nearly the entire time. Yesterday we rode the Metro to Crystal City (which wasn’t nearly as cool as it sounded from the Wikipedia article) and we didn’t get any StreetPass hits at all, despite being out there nearly all day.

At least next weekend we know we’ll get quite a few StreetPass tags when we attend the StreetPass DC meetup. It’s going to be a lot of fun and I’m trying to find all the 3DS owners in the DC area to encourage them to come.

OK, now for the work. I’ll be reposting this on Facebook since it primarily concerns my Facebook friends.

I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and I’ve decided to split my Facebook presence into two accounts. One account will be a sort of exclusive club. Only my favorite family members and my closest friends will remain my friend there. This account will be the one I currently have. It will likely become unlisted (so as to prevent future friend requests).

I will then be opening a new account (possibly under the name “Brain Haddad” – which corresponds to a Gmail address I’ve owned for quite some time to catch emails mistakenly sent to the typo version of myself). Anyone who I remove from the “exclusive club” account will receive a friend request from this new account. These people will largely consist of family members I don’t keep up with very often (or I don’t know them very well, even through Facebook) and coworkers who I like but haven’t developed a genuine, deep and meaningful friendship with. If I feel that I am developing a deep, meaningful friendship with any of these people in the secondary account, I will “graduate” them to the elite account with a friend request.

I do not mean for this secondary account to be an insult to those who find themselves missing the original “Brian Haddad” account from their friends list. It will essentially be my primary Facebook account, but I will not be checking it every day. I will likely check it every other day or even once a week sometimes. I intend for this account to occupy much less of my time than the current one does. Also, I will allow more people to befriend me using this account since it won’t matter if I have more than 100 friends there.

Eventually I will likely either delete one of the two accounts or convert one into a Fan Page (depending on which one is of more value to me at the end of the trial period – which could last anywhere from a few months to more than a year). Thanks to Jasper for pointing out that possibility.

If anyone has any questions or concerns about this process, please leave a comment and I will respond immediately. You can watch this post at WordPress and I may add a FAQ if enough people are asking the same questions over and over.

Remember, I love all of my friends and associates, but I struggle with keeping my social awkwardnesses from getting in the way of living a normal-ish life. These strange things that I do are my way of dealing with a strange, chaotic world that makes absolutely no sense to me most of the time.

5 Responses to “Let’s Try Something New”


  1. 1 Annie H April 3, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Roger. Thanks for the heads up. :)

  2. 2 Autumn April 3, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I learned something today! Wow, that hanging thing was just . . . wow. I knew that one loses the contents of their bowels and bladder at the time of hanging but . . . wow. You should blog more often!!! : )


  1. 1 Five Month Radio Silence | Haddad Family News Trackback on May 26, 2011 at 5:28 pm
  2. 2 Simplicity, Productivity Boosting, and My Kindle « The Mediocre Renaissance Man Trackback on February 26, 2012 at 5:59 pm
  3. 3 Cool New Facebook Feature « The Mediocre Renaissance Man Trackback on April 12, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Me

What I’m Reading

When I Post

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

RSS My Favorite Quotes

  • Quote #55
    "We should be taught not to wait for inspiration to start a thing. Action always generates inspiration. Inspiration seldom generates action." - Frank Tibolt
  • Quote #54
    "There art two cardinal sins from which all others spring: Impatience and Laziness." - Franz Kafka
  • Quote #53
    "I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking up something and finding something else on the way." - Franklin Pierce Adams

I have had:

  • 47,022 page views (so far)

I’m a Twit

  • There's no time like the present to present a present to those present presently. -> 1 month ago
  • My answer to Is there any program that will help me to paint a 3d picture on the street? qr.ae/YEI4R -> 3 months ago
  • My answer to How does it feel to be obsessed with someone? qr.ae/Gjufy -> 9 months ago
  • So I guess I dropped off the face of the planet from your perspective. Who all is doing #NaNoWriMo this year? -> 1 year ago
  • @mndhntr We're well. Thanks for the update on the trip. Keep us posted! I hope you are all well also. :) -> 1 year ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

